How much don’t YOU know?

Fantastic quote from a recent training course.

The trainer pointed out some clever trick, it can’t have been that clever because I can’t just remember what it was.

Anyway one of the delegates said ‘oh I didn’t know that!’

The trainer turns round – ‘of course you didn’t know that, and theres lots of other things you don’t know. In fact there is more that you don’t know than you do know. And it will be that way for ever.’

How true. Thanks Ty!

cheers

Simon

6 Responses to “How much don’t YOU know?”

  1. Rob Bruce Says:

    True but irrelevant. How much you know is not important. Knowing how to find out about the stuff you don’t know is the most important skill you can build.

  2. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Rob – Use Google ;)

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  3. Jon Peltier Says:

    I used to tell people that not everything I know is in my head. Even Einstein once said that there was no point to memorizing something he could look up in a book.

    Now I tell people that my two favorite programming tools are the Macro Recorder (to “remember” syntax and the obejct model) and Google.

  4. Ross Says:

    I didn’t know that…
    “All I know I that I know nothing” … Socrates – the Philosopher, not the football player, who knew a thing or two.

    >>True but irrelevant. How much you know is not important. Knowing how to find out about the stuff you don’t know is the most important skill you can build.

    Not sure I agree 100%, but maybe about 80%, for example, you could be doing something one way, but there might exist a better way of doing it, that you don’t know about?

    I think its better to have a smattering of various things than a really deep knowledge of a few, I think that is more useful in most of today’s working environments.

  5. Simon Says:

    Rob – The point I was making refers to attitude not knowledge. If you think you know it, being great at looking is irrelevant, because you won’t.
    On the other hand if you are humble enough to be able to accept your way may be sub optimal, you may use your search skills to find a better way.

    I totally agree knowing where and how to look is essential, and I suspect this goes hand in hand with the broad view that Ross mentions.

    Jon I think those are my 2 favourites too, although the VBA help is often pretty useful. I struggle with Excel help in 2003, I keep a copy of XP installed because its help is easier to use.

    Ross – nice one for getting a Socrates quote in!
    cheers
    Simon

  6. sam Says:

    “I keep a copy of XP installed because its help is easier to use.”

    I think MS messed up the help files from Office 2000 onwards.
    I still fell Excel 97’s help file were the most well structured.

    Sam

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.