Office 2007 compatibility packs for 2003

Has anyone installed and tried these?

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/products/HA101686761033.aspx

I am tempted (just in case I have a spurt of 2007 project offers!), but I wanted to check there is no downside in terms of wrecking my 2003 install?

I’ve been caught out with some Outlook Express bugs since I installed 2007 on one pc, so I’m not keen to put it on my main one. Anyone got any thoughts/experiences?

cheers

simon

5 Responses to “Office 2007 compatibility packs for 2003”

  1. Andy Pope Says:

    Hi Simon,

    A little while back I needed to download and install these in order to convert some xl2007 files a client sent. I had no problem with them being and remaining installed. For the single use I had they appeared to work.
    Although I don’t recall the files containing much, if any, of the new functionallity of 2007.

  2. Ross Says:

    I read a post by someone who had installed the converter, he seem happen enough with it.

  3. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Simon,

    I’m a power user of vmWare. I usually install packages like this one on a temporarily ‘copy’ and test it carefully. If OK I later install it on the main system.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  4. orcmid Says:

    The compatibility packs allow the .docx, .xlsx, and .pptx (and perhaps the macro-carrying flavors too) to be read and written by the earlier Microsoft Office packages.

    There is no change to the Office usability, appearance, or anything else. There is some extra time loading and storing files because a conversion is involved, but it is automatic.

    I use them mostly with Excel. I also have them for experimentation using the Office Open XML Formats and OpenDocument Format.

    If you are talking about doing Office 2007 projects, I’m not sure this is the way to do it. If you need to exchange documents with users of Office 2007, this is an useful mechanism.

  5. Simon Says:

    Thanks I may give them a go, or it may just be easier to set up a specific pc/vpc with 2007. I don’t see it being a major part of my work for the next few years.
    Dennis I do the same with vpcs but most of them got destroyed during 2007 beta testing and I havent rebuilt them yet. I’m gonna get a fast external drive for my laptop to keep these monsters on in future.
    cheers
    Simon

Leave a Reply

