Is Vista dead or just resting?

Checkout this cover shot from this months PC-Pro:

pc pro cover

Pc-Pro is generally pro Microsoft so I was mildly shocked by this cover (I loved the cluedo design). The story was quite interesting and provided some advice for MS on how to fix things. Whilst pointing out that maybe things aren’t that bad anyway.

The most interesting part actually was realising (more than before) that Microsoft are always going to get a kicking no matter what they do. The general view seems to be that Vista is no worse than XP was when it was this new. Whats changed is the ease of publishing comment and the volume of the debate.

Personally I’m not overly bothered about operating systems, I tend to turn off many of the new features because they waste screen space or cycles (I run XP in classic mode (nice that it has it – nudge nudge ribbon folks!)). I havent tried Vista much yet, although thats about to change. For me all that really matters is the applications. If Excel and Visual Studio ran on DOS I’d happily use that. I can see from a sys admin POV though that the OS can be a big issue.

What do you think of Vista and the buzz around Vista?

[ps thats bmxmag and Linux Magazine underneath] – bmxmag has the best pictures!

Cheers

Simon

8 Responses to “Is Vista dead or just resting?”

  1. Jon Peltier Says:

    “The most interesting part actually [is] that Microsoft are always going to get a kicking no matter what they do. The general view seems to be that Vista is no worse than XP was when it was this new. Whats changed is the ease of publishing comment and the volume of the debate.”

    True, and we’re all guilty of a few well-aimed kicks. The transition to XP wasn’t totally smooth, and it took until SP2 before most of the things were ironed out. In fact, I’ve heard XP called the best ever release of a Windows operating system. In addition to all the blogging is the widespread beta. Also it seems expectations are greater than ever. People seem to be upgrading to Vista and to Office 2007 without what used to be normal prudence, testing critical applications before taking the plunge.

    ” run XP in classic mode (nice that it has it – nudge nudge ribbon folks!)”

    Still kicking that dead horse, eh Simon?? LOL. If you want the classic interface, do what I do and use Excel 2003. I play around with 2007, to answer forum posts and to find more glitches to report, but I only have one client who is even testing the 2007 waters. He’s upgrading a stats/QC package to 2007, and last I heard, he has had no requests for the 2007 version.

  2. Jon Peltier Says:

    And I didn’t answer your question. I haven’t used Vista, and I’ve managed to ignore all the hoopla surrounding it. I bought my last new PC a couple months before it came out, and I have a couple copies of Windows XP on my shelf in case I decide I don’t want Vista on my next new one. What bothers me is the stories about lack of drivers for so much hardware. Since XP works perfectly well for me, I have no particular urge to upgrade.

  3. Harlan Grove Says:

    An interesting comparison would be the percentage of 1-year-old PCs at the time could run XP Professional when it came out vs the percentage of 1-year-old PCs in January 2007 that could run Vista Ultimate. And while video is one thing, how many late model printers did XP fail to support?

    Then there’s 3rd party software. FWLIW, Windows XP Professional could run Lotus 123 Release 5 (which was originally targetted at Windows 3.1, so 16-bit software) with no more glitches that it had running under NT4, while Vista seems to have trouble running some 32-bit software originally targetted at Windows 98. And then there’s the UAC, which I’ll synopsize as

    I’ve finished this comment. OK? Cancel?

    You’ve reached the end. OK? Cancel?

    I mean it now. OK? Cancel?

  4. Marcus Says:

    Simon, was the article empirical or anecdotal? Do we have facts or “our source” in so-and-so corporation?

    It’s been a while since I’ve actually bought a computer magazine.
    They’re either too expensive, don’t have enough relevant content
    to justify the purchase, or read like a soap opera.

    Microsoft’s power is fading. Who are they kidding. We wont be reading obituary anytime soon. The last I read, MS’s turnover exceeded the next 10 largest software houses combined (please correct me if you’ve read different) with US50 billion in cash reserves.

    I’ve only played with Vista at the local computer shop and, similar to MSO 2007, have not seen a glimmer of uptake (corporate banking market mind you).

    “tend to turn off many of the new features”
    Same here, particularly those status bar bubbles. Yes I know the wireless is turned off!!

    Cheers – Marcus

  5. Simon Says:

    Jon – yes I’m still kicking it, although I use the same classic UI you do (2003).
    Marcus – I think it was just an opinion piece, limited hard facts. heres their site:
    http://www.pcpro.co.uk/

  6. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Since the “best marriage” is between Vista & Office 2k7 and .NET I use it.

    I like Your comment on UAC (Harlan) as that’s exactly how it is.

    Nowadays I would say that Windows and Office are quite boring. OK, we get new versions where the SP-1s take them to the daily task level but it’s still the same platform and it’s still the same Office.

    The real progress is done to make tools available on the web. MSFT is also slowly moving into that direction so perhaps Vista or the next version of Windows will be the last major desktop operating system from MSFT?

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  7. Simon Says:

    Dennis I agree on boring and the web. What I want to do is find a career route from one to the other.

  8. Lord Says:

    Having experienced both, I would say Vista isn’t as mature as XP was at a similar point. With XP one expected problems with old software but it was worth it for a more stable environment. With Vista problems with software that worked fine under XP are a real disappointment because it really doesn’t offer anything more stable.

Leave a Reply

