Dell and Linux

A while ago I said my next pc would probably be a Dell as they were allegedly offering ubuntu preinstalled. Well it turns out these mystical machines are pretty thin on the ground and pretty hard to find and hard to buy, and more expensive than the Windows versions.

Basically the reality was a considerable disappointment from the expectations raised by their initial announcement. So my next pc won’t be a Dell after all. And having installed SLED 10 on an old laptop with only minimal excitement, I think my next machine will be a Vista one.

Someone once said always under promise and over deliver because you’ll never recover a disappointed customer. Dell obviously don’t believe that, I do. And that is the mantra I try to follow with my customers. I think that has lost me a few customers who maybe either thought I was offering too little, or going to take too long, or cost too much. I’d rather that than the battles around not delivering what was agreed, or squabbling over money.

On the pc front I think I will get a quad core desktop next to really exercise the multithreaded stuff in E2007. I have had laptops the last few times and havent been overly impressed with performance.

Whats your preference laptop or desktop, and how do you keep them synced if you use both – I have always made a pigs ear of this.

cheers

Simon

One Response to “Dell and Linux”

  1. Kath McGuire Says:

    Hi Simon,

    Just a note on keeping things synced. I use CVS as a version control tool (but I believe Subversion is probably better for binary files. And that allows me to sync between machines. I have the repository living on a server which gets backed up and then just update to whichever machine I fancy. And I know I’ve always got the most up-to-date version. It also works cross platform.

    It also helps with reversing changes and ‘versionitis’: if I commit frequently enough when developing a spreadsheet model, I can go back to a previous version very easily. And there’s only one ‘Budget.xls’ file!!!

    It’s also really useful if there are multiple people working on the same thing. While it doesn’t prevent you opening something that someone else is using, it won’t let you both commit your versions to the server. (If you are using text files, it can merge the changes, but for us spreadsheet bunnies we have to do it by hand). But if you are both committing often then it shouldn’t be too much of a problem (it also helps if you talk to each other – which my business partner and I do – but I understand that effective communication is rare in many workplaces!).

    Cheers,

    Kath

Leave a Reply

