Visual Studio version usage v Excel

I saw an interesting survey over at Code Project asking which version of Visual studio devs were using. I am not claiming their figures are representative, they could easily be skewed.

For fun I tried to line up the nearest equivalent Excel version and the numbers we discussed a few weeks back.

[the numbers are percentages of respondents, multiple replies allowed for VS (and a bit for Excel)]

VS 2008 11.8 Excel 14 0
VS 2005 76.0 Excel 2007 2
VS .NET 2003 27.5 Excel 2003 60
VS .NET (2002) 3.1 Excel XP (2002) 20
Visual Studio 6 23.1 Excel 2000 15
Visual Studio 97 1.2 Excel 97 5
I don’t use VS 2.6 Other s/s 5

I sort of made up the Excel 2007 and none Excel numbers. The VS numbers include users of multiple versions, but the Excel ones we discussed didn’t really. For the record I use 2003 and XP and OOo 2.3 most days. ( I did the above table in OOo, it generates nicer HTML than Excel I think). And I use VS6 and 2003 most days.

The E14 v VS 2008 may seem a bit harsh, but neither is released. Excel 2007 has been out a year now, whereas VS 2005 has been out over 2. I wonder if that 23.1% using VS6 are all the VB6 die hards?

So the dates don’t line up all that well, but I still think that the VS number show a significant skew to the more recent versions that is not there in Excel usage. Do you agree?

Maybe this explains why VS devs wont touch Office with a barge pole (too old skool)?

I somehow feel this explains to some extent the Visual Studio teams limited success at providing a viable replacement for VBA. (VSTO in VS2008 will be their 4th iteration)

I think .net is great for server based apps where the devs have decent control over the destination machine. I can’t see it gaining real traction in the corporate desktop Office development area until at least the runtimes are distributed with Office, or maybe even a VSTA style .net editor. I see a world of difference between one machine/farm server based deployments, and touching thousands of desktops as part of a solutions deployment (the latter being pretty much out of reach for many Office devs).

Its interesting to note that many software vendors selling standalone apps prefer Delphi or Java to VS.

What do you reckon?

Cheers

Simon

3 Responses to “Visual Studio version usage v Excel”

  1. Nick Hebb Says:

    > I wonder if that 23.1% using VS6 are all the VB6 die hards?

    (Raises hand.) But, I’d gladly upgrade if MS came out with a viable platform for creating COM Add-Ins that supported O2k+.

    > Its interesting to note that many software vendors selling
    > standalone apps prefer Delphi or Java to VS.

    Delphi is popular among small software vendors, and I think VS.Net and Java are about on par. But I see a lot of VC++ (unmanaged) developed applications out there in the small software world.

    The worst thing about MS’s push toward a .Net future is that they are eating their young. If unis are turning from C to Java, and MS is pushing C#, where all all the future C/C++ developers going to come from that are needed to write the lower level code required for Windows Operating Systems and Office development?

  2. Simon Says:

    I read somewhere a while ago that MS are having difficulties getting the C/C++ recruits they need. I seem to recall they had a massive internal training program and were trying to move people from other areas. Or maybe I just read this and thought it really happened:
    http://minimsft.blogspot.com/2006/11/microsoft-academy.html

    There are plenty of us VB6 die hards around, which shows how bad the VS (and/or .net) team got it, and continue to get it. If 64 bit doesn’t kill it off I can see a long bright future for VB6 and COM stuff.

  3. Marcus Says:

    Rasing hand cautiously (while looking around the room to see how many others raise their hand).

    As per Nick’s comment – creating add-ins is still too painful in .Net (big area for me). Mine are still native or VB6 COM. Even still using VB6 to wrap up a library of code in a DLL.

    Funny though, I saw very little call for .Net/C# in Melbourne but quite a reasonable amount in London.

Leave a Reply

