Ubuntu 7.10 released

The latest and greatest Ubuntu was released today.

There is a review here.

Bits here.

I’m downloading it now.

I havent seen any mention of which version of OpenOffice or Gnumeric it ships with. I’ll report back when I have had chance to play.

In other news I read here that Apple now have 6.4% of the computer market (whatever they are defining that as!) up from 5% a year ago (according to Gartner). Thats quite a step up. Makes me think I should be keeping an eye out for opportunities on Apples.

I was thinking on standardising on SLED (SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop from Novell) on my non dev machines. Maybe I should follow the trend and go with Ubuntu.

In reality I’ll probably go with whatever I can get to install properly on my Sony laptop, (if anything).

For anyone who hasn’t tried Linux recently, it really is worth a new look. Ubuntu comes as a live CD that you can run directly from the drive making no changes to your system, unless you ask it to install.

Anyone else planning on trying it?

Dennis have you got this new version up and running yet?

cheers

Simon

9 Responses to “Ubuntu 7.10 released”

  1. Jon Peltier Says:

    Re: Apple’s share. According to my web site statistics, Apple’s share of visitors has held steady at 2.5% for many months. Not enough for me to bother with, especially with the news that MS is dropping VBA from future versions of MacOffice.

  2. Simon Says:

    Good points Jon, I’m thinking if their market share gets to 10% in the next couple of years they could really build momentum. The VBA thing is a concern.

  3. Steve Hansen Says:

    Hi Simon,
    Nice bike by the way – I’m surprised this topic didn’t come up when we last met. Anyway, I’ve been checking out SLED and recently grabbed a copy of Ubuntu but haven’t gotten around to installing it yet. Biggest pain I’ve run into is driver support for wireless cards.

    Regarding Apple, I’m not surprised at their gains in the market. If anything I’m surprised the number isn’t even higher. I was at an Apple store today and the placed was PACKED. I think as virtualization gets better and better and more common outside of the tech field, we’ll see even more consumers going the Apple route, safe in the knowledge that they can still easily use Windows when needed.

    Jon – I think you have to consider the content of the site when you look at the OS breakdown of its visitors. A site geared at video editing for example would probably tend to overstate Apple’s market share while a site aimed at Excel/VBA, though it can be applicable to the Mac, is going to understate Apple’s market share (Excel/VBA jockey’s don’t usually buy Mac’s right?). On the sites that I run, the percentage of Mac’s varies from just under 1% to slightly over 10% with most of them falling in the 7% range.

    That said, from an Excel/VBA perspective, I think Apple will always be a non-event. Also – while I expect Apple to make grounds in the consumer market, I don’t think they’ll get serious traction in the enterprise market any time soon.

    Cheers,
    Steve

  4. Harlan Grove Says:

    Re Mac Excel – I just took a look at the demo for Excel 2008. Somehow Office 2008 keeps its menu and adds ribbon-like bloat to it. I suppose Mac Office users would have Apple to thank for requiring menus in large scale applications.

    Dropping VBA in favor of AppleScript makes Office 2008 more Mac-like. PITA for cross-platform use. While Macs may not make it in business any time soon, the administrators in my college and the university where I did my graduate study use Macs, and my church office uses them too. Those organizations account for 80% of my outside-of-work nonrecreational computer use, so interoperability matters somewhat to me.

    Using outside scripting languages may become a necessity. Mac-only users could use just AppleScript. Windows-only users could use VBA. And anyone else could use Python, Ruby, JavaScript, Perl etc. UDFs, though, would become a nightmare unless Mac Excel would treat VBA UDFs as read-only functionality. In contrast, Gnumeric has supported plugin functions written in Python for years. I doubt MSFT will provide similar plugin functionality using outside scripting languages for Office since that might eliminate the market for VSTO/VSTA.

  5. Jon Peltier Says:

    Good point by Steve about Mac users’ interest in the content of my site. I’m sure this low level of Mac visits to my site is also what has led MS to dump Mac VBA.

    The local school department uses Macs, but a couple other towns nearby (including where my wife works) use PCs. The local schools do nothing with the Macs that the PCs can’t do. My kids don’t like having to use the Macs at school, since they’re used to PCs. And with the disparity in prices, I don’t understand why the decision was made a couple years ago to buy new Macs.

  6. Ross Says:

    >>Jon – I think you have to consider the content of the site when you look at the OS breakdown of its visitors.

    >>Good point by Steve about Mac users’ interest in the content of my site.

    In fact to quote the % of x at T1 and T2 is a bit misleading, unless you also state the relative size of the population. Without being too anal about it if the total population remains the same and Mac goes up by 1%, then it would be reasonable to assume that Jon’s site figures would go up by a propionate percentage – if the assumption is that mac users “new” are from the same population as “mac” users current.

    If that makes any sense and not that it matters a jot and I’m properly wrong anyway.

    >>I doubt MSFT will provide similar plugin functionality using outside scripting languages for Office since that might eliminate the market for VSTO/VSTA.

    Although C++ doesn’t get used much? ormaybe that a diffrent thing?

    I dont think I’ll be trying it btw – i just cant be asked!

  7. Harlan Grove Says:

    Ross – you’ve gotta compile the C++ into an XLL or COM DLL to make it usable. Gnumeric plugins consist of an XML file and a Python script file, both plain text (or as plain as XML and source code can be). So all a Gnumeric user needs to write plugins is a text editor and documentation. Not quite the same with C++ for Excel.

  8. Simon Says:

    There is a text based scripting product (/research thing) to define Excel UDFs externally, I remember reading the patent application. It is by some academics not MS – and that ecosystem is one of the massive strengths of MS and Excel (currently).
    I’ll have to have a look at Gnumeric plugins – that sounds a lots less pain than xlls.

  9. Jon Peltier Says:

    Ross –

    You want to make it really complicated, figure that there is a total population Ptot, made up of PC users, Mac users, and for fun let’s throw in Linux users. This population is probably increasing, as are its components, but at different rates.

    My web site traffic is increasing, probably faster than the total user population is. My PC, Mac, and Linux users are all increasing, not necessarily at the same rate, but close enough, as the percentages are pretty well fixed.

    A true statistician would probably be worried about the total population, the sub population of each class of users, and the probability that a member of one class visits my site. I don’t care, I see that 2.5% of my users show Mac, and a smaller percentage show Linux, so I decide my reasership in these subpopulations is not sufficient for me to learn how to make my content more geeric to their environments as well as to the PC environment.

    I noted a while ago that browser usage went from around 90% IE to 70% IE and 25% FireFox (numbers are rough estimates from memory), and after an initial fast jump, FF usage is slowly increasing. If my site had information about web design, or if it contained special effects that rendered differently in different browsers, I’d have had to take steps to accommodate the new population of FireFox users.

Leave a Reply

