Visual Studio 2008 released

MSDN subscribers can download it as of today.

Dunno when it will be widely available – do you?

cheers

Simon

4 Responses to “Visual Studio 2008 released”

  1. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Simon,

    Let me summarize it:
    .NET Framework 3.5
    LINQ
    VSTO 3.0

    I will let the US guys to download it so I got a fast connection as of tomorrow.

    Except for that there will be some additional news around VSTO’s eco system.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  2. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Everything went well with the installation so now I officially state the following:

    Goodbye VSTO 2005 / 2005 SE and welcome VSTO 2008 (or 3.0)!

    Simon et al – Now it’s the right time to jump on the VSTO wagon ;)

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  3. Simon Says:

    Dennis
    I’m not surprised you’ve made the move, VS2008 sounds miles better than the 2005 shambles.
    I’ll have a little tinker with VSTO in 2008, but I’ll probably hold off a while.
    I’ve currently got code in VS6 VS2003 and VS2005, if I can get all that working properly in 2008 then I’ll go for it.

  4. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Simon,

    I’ve made an investment in that I have ordered the book C# 3.0 in a Nutshell (O’Reilly) which cover 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0. It also has some chapters about LINQ so I believe I will have good use for it.

    Now we only wait for the SP-1 which will (according to some blogers) boost Vista. Of course, MSFT should have done in when Vista was released. In other terms, with a new version of VS and a SP-1 for Vista things looks better.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

Leave a Reply

