Who uses Excel autosave?

The first thing I do as soon as I start at a new client is turn this off the first time it locks up my pc. It might be bearable when saving to a local drive but is completely unusable for normal business spreadsheets over a network (in my opinion).

Does anyone actually find it useful?

I prefer to control when where and how my work gets saved what about you?

cheers

simon

11 Responses to “Who uses Excel autosave?”

  1. Marcus Says:

    Oh Yeah – having Excel save monster spreadsheets across a LAN every 10 minutes is sheer joy.

    I also turn it off when I realise it’s on.

  2. ChipG Says:

    I leave it on, sometimes regretting that decision. Most of my work is smaller so it’s not noticable. When I get into large workbooks it is a pain, of course, but I have had occasion where it’s saved me in a crash. I used to turn it off years ago when the LANs were slower, but our gigabit LAN doesn’t often create a delay unless I get over 20-30MB files, which I try not to do. I think turned it back on after I had a regrettable loss and hardly notice it.

  3. Harlan Grove Says:

    Respondents in several newsgroup threads, some of them Excel MVPs, have stated that Microsoft recommends ALWAYS saving files to local drives and then copying saved files to network drives.

    I’ve never used autosave.

  4. Biggus Dickus Says:

    Are you talking about AutoSave or AutoRecover? I believe strongly in autorecover because I have no faith in Excel’s stability during development (especially when the files are BIG).

    I do not use AutoSave because I often abandon changes made to spreadsheets (when I screw something up) and wanna go back to the original – AutoSave would be a big nistake.

    Dick

  5. Jon Peltier Says:

    Autosave is a pain, overwriting the workbook you’re using, etc. I never use it.

    Autorecover seems pretty useful, I leave this on.

    For a very nice alternative to Autosave, try AutoSafe. It’s written by my colleague Jan Karel Pieterse, and is free from http://jkp-ads.com. It saves a copy of open workbooks to a directory of your choice (I use c:\\AutoSafe), and when a new backup of a file is made, the old copy goes in the recycle bin. The advantage of this is that the bin serves as a longer term, multiple version backup. You can go backa day, a week, whatever, back to the last time you cleaned out the bin. You also get a record of what files you were working on at what time.

    Both JKP’s AutoSafe and Excel’s AutoRecover have saved my @$$ on multiple occasions.

  6. pompomtom Says:

    If you’re using a spreadsheet that big, autosave isn’t for you. Autosave is so your boss doesn’t lose his shopping list.

  7. Simon Says:

    spot on pompom

  8. Name Says:

    Excel autosave doens’t work anyway.

  9. Jason Says:

    Question, I have excel 2000, and there is no autorecover. How do I get this?

  10. Jon Peltier Says:

    Jason – Forget the lame-o built-in hacks. Go to http://jkp-ads.com and download Jan Karel Pieterse’s AutoSafe utility. It’s much better than what comes in the box. It saves a backup copy, without overwriting the current workbook, and keeps a running archive in the recycle bin, which you can keep as long as you have disk space for it.

  11. Filipe Says:

    Hi,

    I suggest excel autobackup 1.0.

    You will find it in freewarefiles.com

    Filipe

Leave a Reply

