In Pursuit of Spreadsheet Excellence

The 2008 Eusprig conference is coming up in July. There is a current call for papers, the deadline for which is the end of March. Full info here.

If you are wondering about submitting a paper, but aren’t sure, feel free to email me for an informal chat. I’m nothing to do with paper selection, but I’ll happily discuss my experiences as a speaker.

Personally I think a few more papers from people who earn their living working with spreadsheets, talking about real world quality would be very welcome.

wtf is ‘Spreadsheet excellence’ anyway?

I reckon its the skilled application of suitable quality spreadsheet based components to appropriate issues, and the effective management of their lifecycle.

What does it mean to you?

4 Responses to “In Pursuit of Spreadsheet Excellence”

  1. Marcus Says:

    Some months ago I would have felt happy to contribute as I was working on solutions that were (somewhat) thought out, planned, documented and (reasonably) well tested.

    However, I’m now actively engaged in FBTSOYP development where a design issue considerations, documentation and thorough testing occur after implementation. Almost the antonym of excellence.

    Regards – Marcus

  2. Biggus Dickus Says:

    I’d be willing to talk on several issues. It’s just a bit of a cost to get there from here ;-). I assume they wouldn’t provide a Travel stipend (??)…

    Dick

  3. Simon Says:

    Fly by the seat of your pants – I googled it.
    Dick – I dunno I’ll ask and let you know, but don’t hold out too much hope. Eusprig is a non-profit, not a mega Co (that still doesn’t pay exes ;-))

  4. Biggus Dickus Says:

    “not a mega Co (that still doesn’t pay exes ;-))”

    Funny …..

Leave a Reply

