VBAIDE refresh in Office14

If ‘VBA is forever’ and MS are ‘fully committed to it for the foreseeable future’.

And bearing in the mind the IDE has not been touched in 10 years (10 years FFS – what were you doing 10 years ago?). (I am not counting getting the mousewheel to work in 2007 – sorry)

What improvements can we expect in Office 14? Or more realistically, what improvements would you like to see?

Here is mine:

  1. Please please please – no dumbassed ribbon
  2. Please – no breaking VBA ‘improvements’ (parameterised constructors would be ok)
  3. Please – no unrealistic deployment requirements.
  4. code snippets
  5. Procedures in the project explorer
  6. Tabbed editor
  7. Perhaps a VSTA style editor, but writing proper VBA.
  8. window docking that is controllable

Of course it will continue to be challenging for us devs to believe MS has any commitment to VBA if the IDE is left to stagnate.

What would you like to see?

Do you think there will be any useful changes whatsoever?

cheers

Simon

7 Responses to “VBAIDE refresh in Office14”

  1. jonpeltier Says:

    From what I heard, the mouse wheel started working accidentally, without any conscious effort on the developers’ part.

  2. Ken Puls Says:

    I don’t know if I’d guess on if there will be changes or not, but a couple of things I’d like to see are:

    -The ability to collapse If/Then, With/End With, Select Case statements etc… like you can do in Visual Studio
    -Recordable macro actions for everything

    It would be nice if pretty much all the features from MZ Tools were integrated as well, but then as long as it continues to work, I’m okay with that.

  3. Simon Says:

    Ken yes code folding (?) at block level would be very good, great suggestion.

    Jon, ok I remember it being mentioned. I guess they updated the underlying control (VbaWindow? or ScrollBar maybe?) and that dropped through. ( I never missed it as I mainly use a laptop anyway)

  4. jonpeltier Says:

    Yeah, it never bothered me either. I use a little thing called VB Scroll, a few tens of KB. Once MS came out with a utility to do the same thing, several hundred KB or so. Must have been .Net, I guess. I was going to try it, but when I saw the size, I passed.

  5. Ross Says:

    I dint knoiw you could fold if/thens in VS, how do you do that?

    If they update the editor, I’ll buy you lunch Simon.

  6. Simon Says:

    Ross
    I’ll start dieting right now so I’ll be really really hungry
    (pie and peas ok?)

  7. ross Says:

    You can have what every you like Si cockles maybe ;-)? . Have you paid Bob that 10 quid yet for your ribbon bet?

Leave a Reply

