Top quote

Vista functions like a bloated asthmatic slug towing a caravan full of elephants to a carnival.

I don’t use Vista so couldn’t comment on the accuracy, but I think its a very eloquent summary.

cheers

Simon

11 Responses to “Top quote”

  1. Rob Bruce Says:

    Looks like I’m not the only one to have had problems with Vista Home and a wii co-existing on a wireless network too.

    At one time you could trust MS to knock back a release date in order to get software into a useful state (remember the years spent waiting for NT4?) but now any old unfinished rubbish can make it out of the door if the marketing people demand it.

    The whole Vista debacle, unfinished macro recorder integration in Office 2007, non-integration of the Ribbon into the Office Object Model, retro-fitting of VBA into Mac Office. The pattern’s pretty clear to me at least.

  2. Simon Says:

    Rob
    Harsh, but true.
    I’m sure many of us have sometimes been forced to deliver unfinished, untested crappy stuff to keep some ignorant PHB on track on their MS Project gantt chart. What a horrible feeling. i can just imagine the devs at MS busy adding

    // its not my fault they made me release it unfinished

    comments all over their code to save them from the maintenance crew.

    I guess timeliness is easier to measure than quality, so in todays tick box world it becomes more important.

    So the jounos are happy as they hit their deadlines as planned, its just the users that suffer.

  3. Harlan Grove Says:

    They were looking seriously bad with the lag between Windows XP, originally released in 2001, and Windows Vista which was released more than 5 years later. Microsoft compared very badly to Linux and Mac OS over the same period. They made a choice between looking bad because they couldn’t meet deadlines or looking bad because they released crappy, unfinished code. They chose the latter. Their customers DO have other alternatives (and many are electing to continue using XP).

  4. Ross Says:

    I bought a HP lappy with VISTA on it, now I’m selling that lappy, and getting one which I can install XP on. ’nuff said!

  5. jonpeltier Says:

    Ross – Perhaps I misunderstood. I was under the impression that if you bought a computer with Vista, the license allowed you to downgrade to XP. Why swap computers?

  6. Simon Says:

    Jon
    I thought it was only enterprise style licenses that allowed the downgrade, not retail?

    Software assurance- thats what I’m thinking of – allows you to pay for the latest, but use the best.

    I could be wrong, I havent paid much attention to Vista as I havent yet seen a single justification to try it, never mind migrate to it.

    Ross how come your monster changed from pink to green?

  7. jonpeltier Says:

    Simon –

    Okay, you caught me, so I looked it up. The downgrade option is available for computers that come preinstalled with Vista Business and Vista Ultimate.

  8. Simon Says:

    Jon
    fair play – thats what I should have done. I didn’t realise the option was there for normal people, I thought it was just for enterprises with big multi -user deals. So we’ve all learnt something. And we were all right too!!
    The fact there are so many versions of vista is hardly a help in all this.

    And Ross I thought ‘lappy’ was banned:
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/03/15/lappy_poll_results/

  9. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Running Windows Vista x64 is really nice, fast and reliable. However, it looks like Vista will be the new “Windows ME” and we all know what happen with that version.

    MSFT is a money machine and as such it needs to get constantly feed with money. In order to achieve it new versions of all their products are constantly released and any bugs/features are resolved in the next versions. In other words, today’s issues are resolved with tomorrow new versions and that’s the wrong route to take as the market is to clever to follow it.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  10. Simon Says:

    Dennis, you’re right, and I think that model is starting to break down for them now

  11. jonpeltier Says:

    Dennis –

    “… and any bugs/features are resolved in the next versions.”

    You mean SOME bugs…

Leave a Reply

