Eusprig 2008

Its coming soon – 10-12 July.

Biggus Dickus is one of the presenters, having seen him speak before I’m looking forward to his presentation. Nearly as much as I’m looking forward to the timekeeper trying to get him off after his allotted time! I’m thinking of starting an Encore, Encore! chant so we can hear his wrap up.

I think it will be another excellent event this year, having reviewed some of the papers. there still seems plenty of new interesting research and thinking around spreadsheet quality.

I think there will be some sort of pre conference event on the Wednesday with possibly some sort of spreadsheet safety test, or error hunt. Worst score buys the beers for the night! (expect a big night)

If you are planning on coming along leave a comment with time, so we can arrange to meet up for drinks. I’m planning on getting there Wednesday early/mid afternoon I reckon. I think this will be the third time in Greenwich so I’m hoping to get lost slightly less than previously.

cheers

Simon

7 Responses to “Eusprig 2008”

  1. Biggus Dickus Says:

    “Nearly as much as I’m looking forward to the timekeeper trying to get him off after his allotted time!”

    I’m working on it !!!! They gave 45 minutes (including questions) – kinda tight – I’ll talk faster.

    We are doing our Jet-Lag day at Windsor but will be there by dinner. Love to get together with anyone who wants to then.

    Dick

  2. Simon Says:

    yeah, you talk faster – I’ll ask more questions!! ;-)

  3. Biggus Dickus Says:

    Thanx !!

  4. Marcus Says:

    Hi Simon,

    I believe Eursprig only goes from the 10th to the 11th (not 12th). You got me all excited for a moment there, that there may be a Saturday session.

  5. Simon Says:

    D’oh
    I should have said Wed 9th (pre conf) till Fri 11th early afternoon.
    Sorry my mistake, or ‘error’ more topically!

  6. Harlan Grove Says:

    Idle curiosity: does EUSPRIG deal with anything other than Excel these days? Are ‘modeling’ packages like the erstwhile Lotus Improv and current Quantrix mentioned?

  7. Simon Says:

    Harlan
    Yes there are non Excel products, Resolver was there last year (V1.1 just out..).
    The focus does reflect commercial reality (overwhelming Excel) but there is usually a couple of things on alternatives, both OOo and Gnumeric etc and spreadsheet alternatives like Resolver and Atebion, and even a bit of Matlab.

Leave a Reply

