Bunch of arse

missing. From here.

As we all know American English and English English are waay different. I prefer to freestyle somewhere in the middle. (I wonder if people who talk of British English have ever been to Glasgow (or Barnsley!)?)

I use program not programme (2 chars saved!) , but would never dream of using a z (zed not zee) (as in organization v organisation). No matter how hard my amnesic ff spellchecker tries (it is completely unable to remember to use the British English dictionary) Neither would I dream of using formulae, thats a bit too english for me. Is disc (v disk) English or American? I use dialog box but would follow a dialogue between 2 people.

I’ve been trying for a while but I still havent found a significant word or phrase he’s missed. Unless we can count Feck, one of Irelands most important words. In common use in England wherever there is a significant Irish contingent.

Oh here you are – grapes as in ‘roids is missing (perhaps its the same in the US?), and sickie, and sick note, as in ‘he’s a right sick note’.

Spreadsheet angle?

Well it needs converting to a Word (and Excel of course, and OOo etc etc) add-in spellchecker thingy I reckon

Can anyone think of anything thats missing?

Any US citizens (or other non-brits) needing something translated to English English?

cheers

Simon

[ps if you are thinking of buying him a drink, buy it for his wife instead – seems to rankle him!]

13 Responses to “Bunch of arse”

  1. Timon Says:

    What you call coriander we call cilantro, similar I’m sure to the zucchini/courgette genealogy. I did have to look a while to find anything missing, though.

  2. Bob Phillips Says:

    The scary thing is that all of those people look the same; some may hide behind a beard, or in a dress, but thye still look the same.

  3. jonpeltier Says:

    Cilantro is the leaves and coriander the seeds of the same plant.

  4. Chris Says:

    Good lord, Murphy, I didn’t expect an all-out plug. I hope this doesn’t mean I owe you anything.

    I’ve added “bunch of arse” and “sickie” – I’ve no idea what a “sick note” is so I’m skipping that unless you explain it. I added coriander/cilantro before seeing Mr Peltier’s comment, so now I suppose I’d better remove it…

    None of these will appear on the website until Sunday night; the site lives in an Access database which is turned into a web page by a god-awful mess of VBA that I wrote several years ago, and has to run on a computer that I won’t be near until Sunday. :)

  5. Simon Says:

    A sick note is a person who throws a lot of sickies

  6. Timon Says:

    Do brits not call the plant coriander?

  7. Simon Says:

    has anyone noticed how wordpress has selected ‘spreadsheet auditing’ as a possibly related post to bunch of arse?

  8. dougaj4 Says:

    As an Australian resident for the last 24 years I often get confused as to whether certain phrases are English or Australian slang.

    What about “arse” meaning lucky, as in more arse than class?

    Immortalised by the Australian spin bowler Shane Warne, who on being hit for six remarked that the batsman was a f—ing arsey c—!

  9. Simon Says:

    I’d take arsey to be be angry, jammy or spawny for lucky

  10. Biggus Dickus Says:

    “f—ing arsey c—”

    You gotta love Australia !! I spent 10 days in the Sydney and area once and it was an excellent place !!

    Dick

  11. jonpeltier Says:

    “What about “arse” meaning lucky, as in more arse than class?”

    An interesting regionalization in the US: When someone gets a lucky hand in a game of cards, we often say they “have a big ass”.

  12. Timon Says:

    A budgie or budgeriger is also called a parakeet in the US.

  13. Thank Feck for that « Smurf on Spreadsheets Says:

    […] I mentioned Feck a while ago when we discussed septic English. […]

Leave a Reply

