VBA to the rescue

something for the weekend: Rob sent me this wtf the other day

Cheers

Simon

16 Responses to “VBA to the rescue”

  1. Bob Phillips Says:

    But is the problem .Net or the consultants?

  2. jonpeltier Says:

    WTF is right. Un-F-ing believable.

    I’m sure like most .Net consultants, they really had no idea how Word and Excel worked. Probably used VBA to sum a column of numbers.

  3. Simon Says:

    Bob
    ignorance and goal incongruence compounded by piss poor communication would be my diagnosis. I’m not sure it could ever be a technologies ‘fault’.

    Jon – sadly I have seen VBA (and VB) sums and averages in live projects, and especially ‘find’s.

    I’m sure like most .Net consultants, they really had no idea how the operations/business worked either.

  4. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Sadly but it’s true that many .NET developers lack knowledge about Excel. But at the same time many VBA developers lack knowledge about .NET.

    What worries is that it’s the clients that pay the price no matter if they hire a .NET or a VBA developer.

    All the .NET/VBA best from,
    Dennis

  5. Bob Phillips Says:

    Dennis, a VBA developer who knew nothing about .NET would (probably) not try to deploy .NET. A VBA (or more likley) VB developer who didn’t know much about Excel would be just as culpable, but it seems these guys tried .NET, that didn’t work, so they tried VBA to patch it, which brought them back to where they started functionally, but probably much more complex and less robust operationally.

    Simon, what is your point about Find?

  6. Rob Bruce Says:

    To me this is clearly a case of a solution being designed and implemented without any consultation with the users. The fallback onto Excel and VBA just emphasises what a suitable environment it provides for quick fixes and prototyping. Now that everyone has been through the process once and knows what they’re dealing with in terms of business process and systems, my guess is that a decent system could be built using any number of technologies, including .NET.

  7. Simon Says:

    Bob
    Just that I’ve seen it implemented in VBA so many times by people unaware of Range.find, or most other intrinsic functionality.

    As in they wrote their own function to iterate a range looking for a value.

  8. Simon Says:

    Rob I tried emailing you but it bounced.

  9. Bert Says:

    Problem with .NET is that it’s led to an innumerable number of immature technologies to pick from. It just makes it that much easier to fail.

  10. Simon Says:

    Excellent point succinctly put Bert.

  11. Rob Bruce Says:

    Hi Simon.
    If you still need to email me, try again. Looks like Pipex have completely deleted/disabled my mailbox for some reason. And they don’t provide support at weekends. I knew there would be trouble the moment they were taken over by Tiscali, and I’ve had nothing but grief since then. 100% uptime has become 95%, for example.
    I’ve re-routed all of my mail to go via my business hosting supplier now, so everything’s up and running again.
    Cheers
    Rob

  12. Bob Phillips Says:

    I had the same problem with Pipex this weekend, but it seems cleared up now.

  13. Ryan Says:

    Actually, the problem stems from the consultant (could be any virtually any technology) assuming that everything should be a website or web service. Do not confuse a website with Excel or vice versa or the power of a desktop application with a web application. The error was assuming that a web interface would replace ALL of the functionality of Excel, and instead it ended up going full circle back to Excel and even. There is a reason that desktop applications are still relevant in the world of the web.

    Personally, I think Bert’s point is wildly off the mark. The problem is misusing technologies or rather not knowing the boundaries of the technologies, as well as a lack of knowledge about how the end user will use the application.

    Cheers,
    Ryan

  14. Bob Phillips Says:

    I loved this comment …

    Excel might be the single most robust desktop application ever created.

    Unfortunately, for how much longer.

  15. Simon Says:

    Ryan I totally agree in this case the fault lies on the consultant/customer border.

    I think Bert’s point is valid in general too though.

    You’re right too that desktop apps are still relevant – I wish more people got that, I think our numbers are in decline.

  16. Bob Phillips Says:

    Simon said … You’re right too that desktop apps are still relevant – I wish more people got that, I think our numbers are in decline.

    Back in 1996 I was working for a major UK financial institution, one of the few left standing, and I was PM for a credit risk system. We designed a typical 3 tier client-server architecture, with a centralised database. When the design went to the architecture teams I got a lot of flak for 3 things, first for not coming up with a devolved database (has anyone ever successfully implemented such a beast?), second for not using Lotus Notes (can you believe that one), and finally (and the point) for coing up with client-server and not designing a web based app. I won the arguments in the end, but I had to battle very hard, and it took 6 months (which pushed us uup against the wire when it came to the implementation date as the clients weren’t interested in internal arguments) and was incredibly draining.

    That was 12 years ago, there was a modicum of pragmatism in later years at that place, but it was clear that the architecture theorists were only at bay, they had not been defeated.

Leave a Reply

