Dell and Ubuntu

One of my predictions for 2008 was that Dell would make it easy to find their Ubuntu options on their website.

You will have to decide for yourself whether I was right or not, I could read it either way. The URL is pretty unambiguous.

Anyway here is the link:

Dell and Ubuntu

I think I will get an Ubuntu notebook next because I have a few spare XP licences lying around (from retired machines) so I can dual boot with one of those. Or go the VM ware route.I sort of feel I should try Vista, but I can’t really see why.

My experience with manufacturers versions of Microsoft operating systems is they are so badly pre-infested with crapware they are virtually unusable. And the idea of restoring to factory defaults is farcical (re-crapify). I’d rather do a clean install and patch/update from MS directly.

I think Dell do offer to de-crapify their machine but last I saw you had to pay extra.

I am assuming Ubuntu doesn’t come with Norton virus, but maybe it does, they are pretty pushy!.

Is Linux in your future?

cheers

Simon

Leave a Reply

