Win 7 beta

Have you got yours yet?

I don’t see how I could get chance to even have a look, unless those nice MS folks are giving away fully configured lappers again?

Let me know if you need my free laptop receving address…

I spose if there was a ready to go VPC I may get chance to fire it up

Anyone planning to take a look?

I would like to know if its true they made the task bar bigger at the bottom and you can’t resize it. That would turn a netbook with Office 2k7 and Win7 into a gynaecology endeavour.

cheers

simon

16 Responses to “Win 7 beta”

  1. Jayson Says:

    Off topic, but thought you might like to see this (if you haven’t already)…

    Office 14 beta should be available next year.

    http://lifehacker.com/5129366/microsoft-office-14-scheduled-for-2010-release

  2. jonpeltier Says:

    Not planning to try the beta. I haven’t even used Vista yet, unless you count that VM I built that wouldn’t run.

    Re the taskbar, you don’t have to leave it always on top, do you? I never show the XP taskbar unless I shrink some windows or hit the Windows key. It doesn’t need to always be in my face.

  3. Tim Mayes Says:

    I’ve got the beta running in VMWare. I haven’t played with it much (it kept crashing because of 3D graphics acceleration, I think, in the VM – I’ve probably done something wrong).

    The taskbar is big, but you can set it to use small icons, which makes it the same size as in XP or Vista. You can also set it to Auto-hide, which I think answers Jon’s question.

    They seem to have gotten rid of the Quick Launch area, which I use all of the time, so I’m not at all happy about that.

  4. Doug Glancy Says:

    I loaded it into Virtual PC 2007. It took about 8 hours to install (!) and runs very slowly, as compared to Vista, which loads and runs about the same as XP in a virtual machine – definitely something wrong. Tim, I understand that the taskbar is now a hybrid of the quick launch toolbar and the task bar.

  5. Johan Nordberg Says:

    I’ve installed on my old laptop! Best Windows Install ever! Took less than 20 minutes and the only thing you need to do is accept EULA, select language, partition, set administrator password och choose a wireless network. The rest is totally automatic.

    All drivers were installed without any work from my side.

    The taskbar is resable, but for the first time in Windows there’s no need to have it on two rows. The new OSX-dock-like taskbar is great! I really like the Jump lists. No need for quick launch anymore.

    I read an article in a Swedish tech magazine where they installed Windows 7 on an old crappy machine and it worked great. Not faster than XP, but faster than Vista.

    I think Windows 7 can be really good! It even includes ribbons for Paint and WordPad! :)

    There will be a netbook edition, so I guess that will work better for small screen resolutions.

  6. Peder Schmedling Says:

    I’ve been running Win7 x64 off a separate partition on my home computer (Core2 8500 + 4Gb ram) since Saturday and I must say I’m very pleased.

    I have never used Vista so I dunno how it compares but compared to my fully updated (and tweaked) XP installation it seems to do the same things with the same speed..

    And yes, it is as simple as Johan describes. Last night I did a re-install and it took me just between 10 to 15 min to install it. This is much quicker than what I can accomplish with my AIO (All In One) Win XP DVD.

    As for divers, not all drivers was installed default. But I’ve had success in using Vista x64 drivers except for my M-Audio Revolution 5.1 sound card, for this I had to use the XP x64 drivers (the only reason I had to do this was because of the installer for Vista drivers was checking the type of the operating system whereas the XP x64 drivers came as a zip file).

    Windows 7 supports .VHD files (as used by Virtual PC, Windows Server 2008 R2 and Hyper-V) this means that you can create virtual hard drives files and install (AND boot from) Windows 7 into these files. The performance drop is supposed to be minimal as Windows would run naively when booting from a .VHD file (see more here: http://blogs.zdnet.com/hardware/?p=3324 )

    As for the taskbar, I haven’t experimented much with this yet. My opinion is that it works OK out of the box, at least for now. I’ve always been the type that starts tweaking and changing settings immediately after (re)installing an OS but this time around I figured I would give the default setup a go, and I think I like it..

    Haven’t gotten around to try games/3D applications yet though. But video seems to work just as fine as in XP (after installing “Combined Community Codec Pack” all HD/x264 works flawlessly).

  7. Martin Rushton Says:

    Unprecedented interest according to this
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/7825111.stm

    Could it be just people who think a beta might work better than Vista?

  8. Rob Bruce Says:

    Johan: “I think Windows 7 can be really good! It even includes ribbons for Paint and WordPad!”

    You’re just trying to wind Simon up ! :-)

  9. Bob Phillips Says:

    I am with Jon again. I have only ever used Vista on my wife’s laptop, and as soon as I heard about Windows 7 it became clear to me that I could happily move right on past Vista.

    But why install the W7 Beta? Sure, you give MS some valuable feedback (do their testing for them), but unless the OS is an area of interest for you (not me bro, I’ve got work to do) you are basically spending lots of time finding problems that hundreds of others will find. And then there are the problems when the Beta runs out.

    I think it is an easy decision – pass.

  10. jonpeltier Says:

    In another forum, discussing Windows 7, the thread went off topic as usual, and someone attached links of some near photographic images created solely in MS Paint. I asked whether it was the new ribboned Paint, or the regular version. The response indicated that the respondent thinks the images would be even better if the ribbon were present.

    Keep me away from that Kool-Aid.

  11. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    I’m with Bob about “But why install the W7 beta”. Last time I checked I’m not employeed by MSFT and therefore is not paid by them. I did take a principal standing after the Office 2007 beta hype to no longer pay any interest in any beta products.

    It’s quite remarkable that all software vendors nowdays tries to get the market to be beta testers. When the final versions are out then the market is supposed to buy the product at full price!

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  12. Harlan Grove Says:

    Not being enthused by the prospect of an OS that soaks up at least half of system physical RAM or 512MB, whichever is greater, and not owning a PC with more than 1GB RAM, I’ll have to give this a pass.

    Philosophical rambling: my first Compaq Deskpro (8086 chip) bought in 1984 could run MS-DOS 6.0 when it came out 9 years later. My 12-year-old PII can run the latest Ubuntu live distribution. What was the last Windows version that could run on a 6-year-old machine that was middle-of-the-road when new? Windows 98?

  13. Bob Phillips Says:

    Saw that one Jon, all those people getting excited by the ribbon being extended (inappropriately) to more products.

  14. Marcus Says:

    I’m with Bob, I’ll pass for now.

    But how things have changed. I remember (here we go) before Windows 95 was released. You could order a CD of the Beta for $50 (AUD). Yes, you paid so you could Beta test Win95 in the wild.

  15. Ross Says:

    >>What was the last Windows version that could run on a 6-year-old machine that was middle-of-the-road when new? Windows 98?

    NT4? maybe 2000?,

  16. KeithC Says:

    I for one will probably not even look at Win7 for awhile. My $500 Acer desktop (first PC ever that wasn’t home built) I bought in June with 3GB Ram & AMD Triple Core runs Vista flawlessly and I have never had a s/w or a h/w issue, glitch, problem, etc.

    Lucky? I don’t know but it seems to work and work faster than my XP box with 3GB (except for that damn ribbon; I am still 2-3 times slower in Office 2007 than prior versions).

Leave a Reply

