Prediction victory claimed

I think Oracle buying Sun confirms my prediction that they would get bought or go bust this year. I did half think Microsoft would buy them, but at least there will be some movement. I thought nothing would happen when IBM gave up.

Anyone know what will happen to OpenOffice? will Sun/Oracle still fund it, will they add top class data connectivity?

cheers

Simon

5 Responses to “Prediction victory claimed”

  1. Giff Says:

    I’ll agree, prediction victory is yours.

    OpenOffice? Not my major concern, what will happen to MySQL is a bigger question for me.

  2. geoffness Says:

    I think Oracle would be mad to stop funding OpenOffice, they’ve got a great opportunity there. I’m also more concerned about what’s going to happen with MySQL…

  3. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    MySQL is my #1 concern and I suspect that it will not fit into Oracle’s product portfolio and therefore it becomes more critical to see who will buy it from Oracle.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  4. Mike Alexander Says:

    You offically have prediction victory Simon.

    Actually I’m a bit more optimistic about MySQL. I think Oracle may see MySQL as a foot in a market space where they wouldn’t typically have a presence before. Small-to-Medium-Size businesses who are limited by budget would not typically consider Oracle products. However with MySQL, Oracle has a brand that can more easily be ported into a paid solution for any company that outgrows MySQL.

    As for OpenOffice, I would not be surprised if Oracle used it to get into the ‘Cloud’ game, competing with Google Documents and Microsoft on the Web.

  5. Bob Phillips Says:

    Look wat Oracle did to RDB, a great low cost database product which they turned into a high-cost cash cow. It was that move that drove many companies like mine in the early 90s into the arms of MS.

Leave a Reply

