My Acer Aspire One with Ubuntu 9.04

After a bit of umming and ahhing I upgraded my AA1 from 8.10 to 9.04 last week.

It was much easier than expected, I had no problems at all. They now have Acer Aspire one specific fixes which is reassuring.

Wired networking has started working again (would have been handy for the download) and the wireless light sometimes briefly works now. My sound is still broken which has somewhat limited my Skyping. Its looking like something I did to fix sound last time has now broken it forever. I’ll look some more when I get chance, for most people 9.04 seems to have fixed things.

Other than that, 9.04 is not obviously much different to 8.10, and the upgrade respected all of my settings so overall it’s good. Oh, it comes with OOo3.0 finally.

Anyone else done much with 9.04?

cheers

Simon

8 Responses to “My Acer Aspire One with Ubuntu 9.04”

  1. Doug Glancy Says:

    I upgraded one of ours to 9.04 the other day. The wireless light/switch works again, which threw me for a few minutes. I was trying to remember what file I had to modify with 8.10 to enable wireless networking, when I thought to just try the switch, and hey presto.

    We don’t use that laptop much, but it’s working fine for doing schoolwork/web research. It certainly was an easy upgrade.

    On another note, I’ve been using I’ve been running Windows 7 for a week or so on this laptop, and I like it.

  2. Ingjerd Jevnaker Says:

    Hi,

    I also uprgaded to 9.04 now on Aspire One. Worked like a charm.

    But I still have no audio on my acer – never had after installing ubuntu which means i do not use this netbook as much as I could have. Very annoying.

    Anyone with a fix for this?

  3. Ross Says:

    I upgrade on a standard Toshiba laptop, every thing works fine, even compiz! Your not down with the kids unless you have a rotating cube desk top!

  4. Harlan Grove Says:

    I have audio problems with a Dell Latitude, so it’s not just the Acers.

    With regard to settings, your personal settings are stored in your home directory under /home, and system upgrades never touch anything under /home. A basic difference that’s definitely in Unix/Linux/BSD’s favor.

  5. Simon Says:

    I meant to say 9.04 is my first experience of a Linux hibernate that actually works – neat.
    bit of a shame about audio as this is my skype machine whilst away, well – WAS my skype box.
    I don’t see a lot of love on-line for pulse audio, but I’ll look into this some more in a few weeks as I’m flat out at the mo.

  6. mrohde Says:

    If you are still having audio issues take a look at some hints at the following:

    http://marc.rohde-net.us/2009/05/migrating-to-a-netbook-and-ubuntu-904/

  7. geoffness Says:

    I’m also not enchanted with pulse. I see there’s a page for the Aspire One at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AspireOne – that may or may not prove useful to get to the bottom of sound/wifi issues.

    Personally, I am still waiting to get 9.04 installed, but I have put it on my brother’s laptop (which was suffering from an excess of WinXP/limewire usage). All seems good with the exception of wifi – I think I’ll reluctantly have to go with ndiswrapper on that front.

  8. Brian Says:

    I had been thinking of loading the new Ubuntu onto my AA0 and have already downloaded the 9.04 netbook remix onto my iMac but can’t understand what line 7 of the instruction to put the ubuntu .img onto the usb memory stick means and English is my mother togue.

    However, one thing worries me, does wireless work on the AAO or not? If it doesn’t then I might stick with the flakey old Linux.

    this is the line I don’t understand can anyone explain please.
    7. Execute sudo dd if=/path/to/downloaded.img of=/dev/diskN bs=1m (replace /path/to/downloaded.img with the path where the image file is located; for example, ./ubuntu.img)

Leave a Reply

