Excel 2007 zombie VBAIDE

I get this and have had a few other reports.

open a new Excel, lock the screen (win + L) then log back in (assuming your screensaver is pw protected), no change to Excel.

Open the VBAIDE then close it and lock and unlock – now a zombie IDE appears with no toolbars or menus.

This was always caused by crappy COM addins, but just recently I have seen it on totally clean machines, and it happens in safe mode too. Only noticed it on dual screen set ups so far And its Excel 2007 SP1.

Anyone else seen this?

Anyone know what causes it? and/or fixes?

Is it fixed in SP2?

cheers

Simon

7 Responses to “Excel 2007 zombie VBAIDE”

  1. dougaj4 Says:

    “Anyone else seen this?”

    Yes

    “Anyone know what causes it? and/or fixes?”

    No

    “Is it fixed in SP2?”

    Don’t know yet.

    I’ll watch out for it and let you know if it happens.

  2. jonpeltier Says:

    I’ve had the IDE lose its menus in previous versions, maybe due to messed up COM add-ins as you say. Closing and reopening the IDE is usually all it takes. Haven’t gotten this in 2007 yet….

  3. Marcus from London Says:

    Hmmm, I’ve seen this with xla which were not password protected even if Excel didn’t have any COM Add-ins installed. Password protect the xla and the behaviour disappears.

    Have only witnessed this in <=xl2003 (thus far)

  4. Christopher Altherr Says:

    This seems to be corrected in SP2. I was having a terrible time with the IDE problems before switching to SP2. Give it a try. SP2 seems to fix the hand off between explorer.exe and excel.exe when opening a file over a network. Before this was extremely delayed as well.

    Chris

  5. Gordon Says:

    I’ve always gotten this with 2003, just assumed it was “one of those things”. Surprised it’s still present in 2007….

  6. geoffness Says:

    I’ve had it happen to me a couple of times in 2007. Like you I had assumed it was COM addins at fault – the only one I have on at work is the SAS Office addin. Like Jon, I’ve always found that closing and re-opening the IDE restores the menus.

  7. Simon Says:

    Well it doesnt seem to be fixed in my SP2, and it happens in safe mode btw.
    I’m sure it wasn’t happening a few weeks/months ago, and I don’t get it in 2003.

Leave a Reply

