Recover my work and restart Excel

crash

 

Anyone know how to get that box unticked by default?

I have been doing a training course for some support staff and we have been looking at different ways to crash Excel.

I don’t generally find the recovered stuff much use and it seems to take a lifetime to load so I’d like to get that turned off by default. I can’t seem to find anything on Google (should I try Bing [edit sm – trying to change ‘possibly related posts’](Crosby? B0ng?)(Microsofts new name for its next search failure). And I haven’t seen any likely registry keys.

Any ideas?

cheers

Simon

7 Responses to “Recover my work and restart Excel”

  1. Ken Puls Says:

    Okay, I don’t know of a solution, but I’m rather amused at the auto-generated possibly related posts feed on this one. It says “Would you date a guy who admitted to paying for sex?”

    I wonder how that is related to the subject or content of this post?

  2. Simon Says:

    Do you think I could sue?

  3. Bob Phillips Says:

    When you use ‘Bing Bong’ in the text, I think you can only sue yourself.

  4. Simon Says:

    Hmmm
    I tried changing that bong bit. (I was refering to the new MS search thingy.
    Anyone tried it?
    (I just did – pretty underwhelming)

    I guess I should look on the bright side – at least its related to this post and not the ‘about me’ page!

  5. Alex J Says:

    Simon:
    “Do you think I could sue?” – do you mean “Would you date a guy who admitted to paying SUE for sex?”

  6. Matt Says:

    Does disabling autorecover (Tools, Options… in xl2003) also remove this popup? Just needs to be disabled for every workbok when it gets opened.

  7. Mike Alexander Says:

    I found this link: Not sure how to test the results of the settings

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/289840

Leave a Reply

