Googles new operating system

The beeb are reporting that Google is due to release a new operating system targeting netbooks.

Are you bovvered?

Thre seems to be a lot of hyperbole in the tech world, but I’m undecided as yet.

Yes a new OS based on the cloud (the very same one MS is boring us to tears with) could be ‘exciting’.(I red-lined my R6 in second the other day (on a private road officer), I doubt a cloudy os will be quite that exciting).

But after a great start in netbooks, Linux adoption seems to have tailed off a little? At first they only had some home made Linux, then they got XP too. Now many of the new ones coming out only have XP. Is compatibility with existing (mainly Windows based) pcs that important?

We have 4 netbooks here, all running Linux, the kids have bagpuss Linux I have Ubuntu NBR (9.04 – with sound finally – yahoo!). Everyone seems happy. I really thought Ubuntu was the way things were going, but it doesn’t look like that right now.

Phone operating systems seem more diverse, and indeed Android is doing well there.

I dunno, Google are one of the few IT orgs that have a chance to push this sort of stuff through.

What do you think? Are you saving up for a Chrome OS netbook?

Cheers

Simon

10 Responses to “Googles new operating system”

  1. Gordon Says:

    No, but I am on the lookout for a low-profile OS to replace XP on my old ThinkPad T41, which is my version of a netbook.

    If they do the OS like they did the browser then they might be on to a winner, moving people from Windows on the strength of their brand alone, something that the whole confusing Debian/Red Hat/Mandriva/Ubuntu/Gentoo/Fedora/Kubuntu/openSUSE/Knoppix mess will never persuade the average Joe to do.

    Then again, folk are incalculably dumb and will likely sleepwalk into another few versions of Windows yet.

  2. Tom Gleeson Says:

    A mobile internet enabled ‘Google’ netbook would be an easy sell to many of my non-tech neighbours/friends & family; as Gordon said, the Google brand is very strong, and Linux is too nebulous a concept for most civilians.

    Office will continue to be a major lock-in for MS but again I find once I show “home & office” type people Google Mail and Docs they usually decide not to spend the €80 on MS Office.

    Tom

  3. Mike Woodhouse Says:

    My experience with Linux to date is that it just isn’t really ready for prime-time on the desktop, except in certain kind-of embedded situations, Netbooks for the browser-only user being one of them. The trouble with Open Source is that much of what is built comes from the person who wanted it, who – pretty much by definition – is a programmer. And programmers (I include myself in this) don’t have the UI design skills to deliver stuff that non-programmers want. Windows, for all its myriad faults, does this stuff better than anything I’ve seen on Linux.

    If all I ever did on a Netbook was run Firefox, and was happy to run Google Docs (macros? array formulae? sorry then, no thanks) then this would be irrelevant, of course. The moment I wanted to fire up Word, or Excel, then it’s paramount.

    It’s all a bit tricky.

  4. sam Says:

    The OS is of no significance to the average user. It applications.

    If I can run Excel on GOOGLE OS and if its free I would switch without a blink.

  5. Harlan Grove Says:

    Maybe Linux on the desktop hasn’t yet arrived, but I think it’s pretty certain that Windows won’t have the embedded systems market to itself.

    As a business user, I’m no doubt on the fringe. Excel is the only Office app I use regularly (and a blessed life I have to need to read no more than 4 PPTs a year). OOo Calc isn’t quite up to Excel 2003’s level. However, everything else I use regularly is available for Linux or has an acceptable Linux alternative (though some of the alternatives aren’t too close). If I used Crossover Office, I could use Excel under Linux, but I’m not going to buy it myself and my employer won’t either.

    What’s missing for Linux is the home user fluffery. Maybe Google can bring some developers to write cruftware for Google OS.

  6. Dick Says:

    I put Ubunto on an old Thinkpad a few years ago. The trackpad wouldn’t work (or maybe it was the eraser thingy). Whatever it was, I had to flip two bits and recompile the kernel to use it.

    OK, that’s an exaggeration. With a little time and effort, I got it working. If my wife or my mom had to do it – never. To me, Linux isn’t ready for the desktop because of stuff like this. Windows is bloated because it has to work on every piece of hardware that doesn’t start with i.

  7. Ross Says:

    >If my wife or my mom had to do it – never. To me, Linux isn’t ready for the desktop because of stuff like this.

    Dick, with the up most of respect, thats BS!!!! there are loads of things in windows people cant do, it’s not like Linux is the only OS which has driver issue, or bits that don’t always work etc. Thats life you get issues and you have to live with them or sort them out. If the tracker pad did not work under windows could your mom of wife have fixed it?

    >Windows is bloated because it has to work on every piece of hardware that doesn’t start with i.

    Sorry my dear old chap, there must be something about the heat in this server room that’s getting to me, but that’s not true ! 6 months ago I got a new laptop with Vista on it. I hate Vista, so I swapped the HDD out and installed xp and ubuntu. The wifi on the windows install did not work, but the wifi on the linux one did! It was not difficult to fix the XP issue, but it was slight harder than doing nothing!
    My point is that these issue are broad, not just Linux ones – so there ;-))))

    As for the google OS?

    I can’t see why I would want to use a internet depend OS. It will depend how it works, but if its a thin client set up then it wont be of much use past people buy stuff online – which is fine, and will be good for netbooks, but why would people limit them sleves in such a way? Of course they will, but that does not make it good! ;-)

    I posted about “independent OS’s” a while ago, some of these are fun, and very quick:
    http://www.blog.methodsinexcel.co.uk/2009/01/17/independent-os%E2%80%99s-hold-on-to-your-hats/

  8. Simon Says:

    Linux has come a long way in the last few years. I’d strongly recommend trying a recent release. with the Live CD stuff it needs no install to try.

    Ross – shouldn’t you be playing cricket? I agree on the Win v Lin, Win has the OEM install advantage though. They nearly lost it in netbooks, but maybe a brand like Google could have an impact there.

  9. aivars Says:

    Fully agree with Ross.

    On my old 2005. desktop PC after the fresh re/install of Win Xp I have to: separately reinstall both network cards, the wireless card, HP printer and the sound card. On Xubuntu it all works right away after the install! Also to set up VPN and Remote Desktop is somehow more intuitive on Xubuntu. Sharing a network Linux printer – a snap! Ok, it is not hard in Win too.
    The only issue was to get video/audio streaming right in Firefox.

  10. Ross Says:

    >>Ross – shouldn’t you be playing cricket?

    I’m glad I’m not bowling on that pitch! I played with Swann and Monty, so it was nice to see G-spot get some runs, but a same Monty couldn’t hang a round a little longer! Think it could be a struggle from here on in!

Leave a Reply

