IBM move to OpenOffice

Allegedly anyway, and its actually to Symphony, which is based on OOo.

Here is a bit more info.

I bet there are a few unhappy bunnies in finance and marketing wondering how they are going to get their VBA stuff working properly in 10 days.

The main goal seems to be to move off MS file formats to ODF, which is fair enough, unless that means you need multiple versions of the same doc in different file formats, for example if customers mandate MS Office formats.

I have seen gasping reports that this could spell the end for MS Office. But to paraphrase Winnie C, I don’t think this is the end, not even the beginning of the end, it could, however, be the end of the beginning.

I’ll start investing in OOo when I see jobs on Jobserve, just like I’ll consider any tech. I do however use OOo, probably as much as MS Office for my own bits and bobs, but that Starbasic is grim.

Do you use OOo much?

cheers

Simon

6 Responses to “IBM move to OpenOffice”

  1. Gerard Cunningham Says:

    I’ve been using OOo Writer exclusively in my writings for about 2 years now, though I’ve not had much reason to use any other modules except the occasional Calc spreadsheet for accounts

  2. mikewoodhouse Says:

    The spreadsheet program is poor, to say the least, compared to Excel. Although as I continue to struggle with the blasted Ribbon I’m starting to feel less committed. If OOo implemented a macro language with seriously good integration (Ruby for personal preference, but there are several that would do as well – why not have them all?) then I’d start to think harder.

    OOo writer works fine for small docs, compares less well with Word when things get larger (comments above regarding Ribbon also apply).

    The database is pitiful compared with Access (but … above … Ribbon … blah blah blah)

    And as a large corporate user, I get Office 2007 Enterprise for about £15, so cost isn’t much of a consideration either.

    All that moaning said, if I could make more money on the OS platform I’d be there like a shot. But I can’t. Not yet at least, and I suspect not for a long time if ever.

    Could be wrong, though – it would hardly be unusual.

  3. Jon Peltier Says:

    When I first tried OOo, it impressed me as being a toy. When I last tried it, within the past year, I didn’t feel it had advanced all that much in the intervening 8 years or so.

    Of course, the ribbon, now there’s someone’s toy. But the underlying app is (mostly) solid.

    Is IBM even relevant anymore?

  4. JP Says:

    OOo is supposed to have limited support for VBA, although I haven’t tried it myself.

  5. Harlan Grove Says:

    First, Lotus Symphony is a work-in-progress. Apparently IBM’s senior management doesn’t believe much serious work gets done with spreadsheets or databases less, er, complete than DB2. As for word processing, probably no great loss no longer being able to use Word.

    OOo isn’t a toy, but until there’s both a better OM and much, much better documentation for that OM, it’s not usable for serious development. Still, it’s a mystery why anyone still pays for Works.

  6. Doug Glancy Says:

    I have tried VBA in Calc. No built-in form editor, no addins, no Autocomplete, so not worthwhile for me. I think the classes were really confusing or non-existent as well, at least VBA-wise. I know there are other options for using javascript (?) and I even downloaded it, but there were too many different learning curves to make it feasible for me.

Leave a Reply

