Commercial Excel Add-in Clinic

I am thinking of running a one day event designed especially for people wanting to wrap up their add-ins or spreadsheets for commercial distribution.

Basic agenda would be anything and everything to do with taking some dodgy gizmo you wrote for yourself and polishing it into a saleable jewel.

So things like,

  • assessing the market
  • decent design and coding
  • Packaging your add-in for release
  • providing helpful help
  • Pricing advice
  • Marketing strategy
  • distributing and collecting payment
  • updating and patching
  • protecting your intellectual property
  • internationalisation (i18n)
  • etc etc anything from deep technical to broad business issues

Initial thoughts are for a 1 day event, smallish group, probably less than 10, maybe as many as 20? At this stage I am thinking Jan or Feb 2010, probably in Londinium, not because I like crap expensive hotels and lots of travel, but because no one would come up to Carlisle. Style would be a mix of seminars, lectures, informal discussions and question and answer sessions.

It would be a chargeable event probably around 300 gbp per person, and I’m thinking of offering some free places to well known Excel bods.

What do you think?

is it something you can imagine people attending? would you want to present or lead a slot?

I’ve had a few queries in this area recently which is what makes me think this may have a bit more momentum than the (non free) beginner level user conferences. I think it maybe worth a punt for a small conf room for a day.

Anyway, leave a comment with your thoughts or drop me an email

cheers

Simon

9 Responses to “Commercial Excel Add-in Clinic”

  1. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Simon,

    Just my 2c on the subject.

    I think the setup is a good idea as it focus on one specific area of Excel. I don’t want to sound as MSFT but I believe security is essential for a crash course like this one. The pricing part is always tricky especially from an int’l point of view.

    In my own experience You should do one day and then offer two half days for follow up.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  2. Stephen Allen Says:

    Simon,

    I’m certainly interested in embibing other opinions.

    In a limited sense, I’ve covered all the areas within my own company. But I can’t claim a good success rate.

    Perhaps, we should set aside our recent dispute over INDIRECT().

    Regards,

    Stephen

  3. sam Says:

    “protecting your intellectual property” – Thats XLL or COM

  4. Simon Says:

    Sam – or your encrypted xml – that seems good to me, obfuscated vba and .net may be good enough for some apps too.
    Stephen – more a dispute over debating tactics than functions
    Dennis – security – I always mention it but very few care. I think you are right on the follow up – maybe that would work remotely. Or split the group for the following days half in the am half in the pm

  5. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Simon,

    I have done some similar setups in the past and You could make a remote setup for the follow up. Many people appreciate to first get a “face” and then communicate via e-mail etc with me.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  6. james Says:

    Simon … that sounds like the kind of work I asked if you were interested in doing for me …. and I was willing to come all the way up to sunny Cumbria to discuss ….. maybe the project was too hard for you …. only joking … cheers, James

  7. Simon Says:

    James
    I thought I was waiting for you to scope out the first part?
    maybe the scoping was too hard for you :-) :-)
    I’ll drop you a line…

  8. Marcus from London Says:

    Sounds like a great idea Simon. Hmm, obfuscated vba – I’d not considered that. My thinking was limited to a COM Add-in or a COM dll called from an xla.

  9. Patrick O'Beirne Says:

    Keep me posted on this one, Simon!
    The later in the year, the better, if only because of the weather :-)

    Thanks
    Patrick

Leave a Reply

