Excel Jobs

I’ve had a sniff of a couple of Excel jobs.

1. a part time but possibly long term consulting gig. You need to be based oop north for this, or at least able to get to near Ilkley moor (bah’t’at or wi’it) easily.

2. full time contract role in Geneva.

Both roles need decent Excel and VBA, for the second a bit of Visual Studio wouldn’t do any harm.

If you are interested in either please drop me a note and I will pass your details to the relevant people. Please include a cv for the second.

cheers

simon

16 Responses to “Excel Jobs”

  1. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Simon

    How does the remote market look like in UK? With remote I mean doing the work elsewhere from the clients.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  2. Simon Says:

    Dennis
    its a bit rubbish. there is the odd job, but Excel seems to have a culture of on-site/face to face work. Much more so than php or other web technologies.

  3. Biggus Dickus Says:

    “its a bit rubbish. there is the odd job, but Excel seems to have a culture of on-site/face to face work”

    Yeah and it’s totally ridiculous too ! Excel suits that remote activity perfectly. You might physically visit at the beginning but from then on everything can be done remotely. Companies that don’t get that are simply missing out – as are we. There’s only so many Excel gurus in a given area (unless you’re in New York or London) – so everyone would win.

    Dick

  4. Dan Says:

    Simon,

    Out of interest, and with an eye to the future, what does Excel/VBA bashing typically pay? You’ll have to excuse the naivety of the Q.

    Ta.

    D

  5. Marcus from London Says:

    Dan,

    Have a look on jobserve.com. That will provide a reasonable indication. Many factors also come in to play. Are you asking about the UK market (in effect then you’re actually asking about the London market).

    Domain knowledge has a large impact on the going rates. Banking (specifically Investment) dominates. NHS experience also seems to be nice merry-go-round if you can get on to it.

    Excel/VBA ‘bashing’ in investment banking often (easily) pays double of other domains – hence its allure.

    All the best

  6. ross Says:

    You’re a rubbish recruitment consultant! Surly both jobs require, SQL, TSQL, MOSS, Jquery, php, and a dgree in kintting, as standard, and offer a compatavive salary of 19k per year?!?!…..
    any way…
    Got anything in st, james, Northampton, I can only start work at 10 mind.
    ;-)

  7. sam Says:

    95% of the projects that I have done in Excel/Access/VBA have been done remotely….
    Couple of initial meetings to understand the requirements…well its more to understand the people..the requirements are something you understand only after the project is completed :-) and a couple of meetings before go live

  8. Jon Peltier Says:

    Like Sam, I’ve done most of my work remotely, probably >98%. I’ve had only two clients within driving distance, and another client flew me cross-country for a few days to kick off their project.

  9. Dennis Wallentin Says:

    Simon et al,

    Interesting to learn – In my part of the world almost all work are done remotely.

    OK, if You live in the larger cities then it’s more face to face work but even there it’s perfectly acceptable to work remotely.

    Kind regards,
    Dennis

  10. Ross Says:

    Here in the UK, working from home, sorry working remotely, is not “flavour of the month”. I feel it’s getting a bit more accepted, but the “old school” still don’t like it. The reason is that in Briton, you need to work hard, but not necessarily efficiently, not begin in the office is seen as a bit of lazyness. Also, I guess the distances here are much small than in the US, and possibly other EU locations.

    This week for example I’ve driven from my home in Northampton to Birmingham, which is about a 100 miles round trip, and will take 2 hours (an hours each way). I reckon I needed to be in the office maybe 2 days tops? Poor use of time, but the customer generally does not pay for it, so they don’t care!

    FYI, I will be getting out early today, so I can drive home in the snow storm in day light! Nice!!!!

  11. Dan Says:

    Thanks Marcus.

    My domain is Engineering; specifically Electrical Power Industry. I don’t know much about Banking or Investments I’m afraid. And the only time I come into contact with the NHS is when I’m waiting to see a Doctor!

    I suspect alot of these Industries share a common need for Excel type services but I agree domain expertise would give you an edge.

    Anyone done any work in the Engineering sector recently..?

  12. Harlan Grove Says:

    It was one of the big names from Bell Labs who called programming applied laziness. You need to be methodical, rational, occasionally clever, but excessive displays of effort are signs of poor coding abilities.

    Anyway, I work with offices spread across the US except for the northeast. I can only work remotely with most of them. It’s easier when one’s ‘customers’ are mostly in-house but in may different locations.

  13. dougaj4 Says:

    Dan – I work in engineering (civil/structural), but mostly my Excel development work is for my own use. I haven’t tried very hard, but I get the impression that there isn’t much demand for using external spreadsheet development services here (Australia). There is great potential for development of engineering related applications, but the people with the authority to introduce anything new don’t tend to be interested.

  14. Dan Says:

    Hi dougaj4. I get the same impression here in the UK as you do in Oz, and I agree there is absolutely loads of potential to use Excel for Engineering purposes. For instance, the volume of asset data (ie technical, condition and performance) that is collected by business every day is growing exponentially. The real sucessful businesses are those that are able to understand what this mountain of data is telling them – here Excel can help surely..?

    Im no expert on data analysis but a really good piece of insightful number crunching can often reveal the answer to very differcult to solve problems.

    Also, I’ve lost count of the number of DBs the exisit in my organisation – ALL engineers prefer to dump this data into Excel and then analyse it and produce charts etc.

    I’d be interested to hear any other views…

    Dan

  15. Simon Says:

    Better draw a line under number 1. Seems lots of people have already been involved.

  16. Al Gill Says:

    I agree – UK remote working in XL/VBA/C# etc. sucks even though it is much more efficient to work remotely. Occasionally this happens and saves me about two hours a day fighting on trains. Normally though people want to see you face-to-face and you keep getting distracted by other things. Now these ‘other things’ do occasionally include winning new work but it’s more likely to be helping out everybody else with (usually quite basic) spreadsheet issues – possibly more efficient to train people? Anybody else using things like Google wave when working remotely by the way?

Leave a Reply

