Oil and Gas Industry training

I try to invest one or two weeks each year in extending my skill set. Partly because I like learning new stuff, but mainly because I am a consultant/contractor and my skill set is my product/service.

Last week I did an Oil and Gas industry fundamentals course at the Energy Institute in Lndn. This covered the full stream from geology and exploration to refining and trading and hedging. Details here. This is a great course, and a great way to fill in the knowledge gaps. What I especially liked was the mixed formats, with lectures, quiz, team discussions, videos. I was really impressed with the delivery. Of course it helps the presenter had a few decades experience across seemingly the whole industry, and a keen interest in recent developments.

The current oil price excitement adds a good backdrop, and helps focus the interest. Brent.

We covered such things as

  • the different products, crude oil, Gas, LNG, refined products
  • The geology, and seismic investigation techniques (I used to work on a seismic survey team many moons ago)(not as good as the job I had in a biscuit factory – but a close second – when it wasn’t raining)
  • Enhanced recovery techniques
  • Unconventional sources (topical with current shale gas interest)
  • Environmental and safety, security, sustainability issues
  • Carbon capture and sequestration
  • Transportation techniques
  • Refinery processes and economics.
  • Trading physical and hedging strategies
  • Road fuel and bio fuels
  • Alternative energy sources
  • fuel switching issues

Overall it was a excellent course, with a vast array of content. As such it was really only scratching the surface across the breadth of the industry. There look to be follow on course in many of the sub areas so you should be able to find one to match your specific area of interest. (I have a few in my gun sights – time permitting)

If you are interested in this critical industry and have 3 days to invest, I would highly recommend this course. Interestingly one of the delegates mentioned she had been advised that the Energy Institute course was much better than the others. (I didn’t even find any others, so couldn’t compare.)

A few weeks ago I did a commodity derivatives course with bpp. here are the details. The presenters and the course content were very good. Lots of useful stuff, highly targeted to the CISI certificate exams, which are luckily very relevant to the real world of trading.  Another one I would recommend – it was 2.5 days on derivatives, 2 on regulations – you could probably skip the regs unless you need the certificate.

Are you doing any business training? Any technical training? Any training at all?

Cheers

Simon

6 Responses to “Oil and Gas Industry training”

  1. Marcus from London Says:

    Hi Simon,

    I consider updating my skill set an ongoing (and never ending) process. Some of this is IT related and some covers business (domain) knowledge.

    Given that I was, in a previous life, a corporate IT trainer it’s probably ironic I have an aversion to trainer-led courses. This is mainly because I believe that – all else being equal – the trainer themselves make or break the course.

    The last time I did a trainer led course was for SQL Server 2000. I wanted the trainer to focus predominantly on issues relating to MSDE development and deployment. Given that there were only 2 participants, the other one being my colleague, this didn’t seem unreasonable. It did for the trainer. He was adamant to stick strictly to the book. As a result, most of my training is books and online videos (both subscription paid and free).

    On the IT side I’m trying to get grips on WPF. Here, I’ve been working my way through Matthew MacDonald and Adam Nathan’s works.
    As I’ve done a lot of work on the risk side of things (Market, Operational and now Credit) I’ve been filling in the gaps reading Foundations of Banking Risk which I found to be the single best text written at my level.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Foundations-Banking-Risk-Risk-based-Regulation/dp/0470442190/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1298925111&sr=8-1

    I also have an interest in commodities and have derivatives exposure (mainly Equity Derivatives). So I figured (and inspired by your previous post) I may as well do it formally and have started attacking a Level 3 Certificate.

    However rather than going the trainer led courses at BPP like yourself, I went straight to the source at CISI. I’ve started with Principles of Financial Regulation. And provided that doesn’t drive me insane I’ll then dive in to Commodity Derivatives. Not only do they provide books, they also have online resources and sample exams.

    Cheers – M

  2. Marcus from London Says:

    As an aside, given that you’ve been beavering away in Geneva in the commodities arena, the Financial Times recently had an interesting article on the states of affairs in Geneva, commodity derivatives-wise. Geneva is now the largest, single source of traded physical commodities (not necessarily derivatives). Sounds like a happening place to be.

  3. freddy Says:

    “Carbon capture and sequestration” … bah … bloody idiocy …

  4. Simon Says:

    ;-)

  5. Joseph Barnor Says:

    I wanted an offshore training

  6. Integrated Says:

    Hi Simon, I like your experience by reading your blog.I think you should do that training from Petro Skills. It is a World’s Leading Petroleum Training Alliance.
    I will also like to join Oil and Gas Industry training.

Leave a Reply

