Amazon Wiley price scam

You might have noticed I havent been blogging much recently. Sorry about that.

I am currently busy reskilling in new areas.

Hence a bit of Amazon shopping for relevant reading material. I put a few relevant books in my basket a week or two ago, or maybe less. Imagine my surprise when I came to it today to buy and saw all the prices had shot up.

I don’t know if its just a money grab from Wiley or Amazon  ‘incentivising’ Kindle purchasing but the price rises are eye watering, Perhaps they are anticipating a new 30% book vat rate in the budget.

Looks like I will have to rely on other info sources. Or hope for a price pull back…

did they not hear about the recession?

did paper just triple in price?

Anyone else seen this? Anyone seen other publishers or topic areas (this is finance/trading)? or got an explanation?

Cheers

simon

5 Responses to “Amazon Wiley price scam”

  1. Marcus from London Says:

    Funny that you mention that. I was looking at a Wiley Finance book on Amazon last night which I’d like to get but it’s not being released until June.

    It’s RRP is £60 but is being offered at £29. I didn’t want to pre-order for just that scenario.

  2. spursfan Says:

    There is an annual price rise at the end of February – our book’s list price went up from £67.50 to £70.00

    As well, for their US books there is an annual adjustment for changes in the dollar/sterling exchange rate

  3. Marcus From London Says:

    @spursfan

    Hmmm, still doesn’t justify raising the prices ‘after’ you have purchased (but not yet received) the books.

  4. spursfan Says:

    @marcus

    If they are just in your Amazon basket, you haven’t purchased them yet, so the prices can still change

  5. Simon Says:

    ITs a funny thought though isnt it? Imagine loading up your real trolley with stuff and then being charged something different when you get to the till.

    I think Marcus is talking about preordering, in which I have no idea if they respect the price. My stuff was just in my basket and had been for at least a week. I don’t have a problem with the normal price shuffle, its just these were so big and across almost everything in my basket.

    Mike 2.50 on a 70 quid book doesn’t seem so bad, these are 8/9 quid on a 20/25 book

Leave a Reply

