New Programming hero

This is not suitable for people of a polite disposition who are easily offended,or who work somewhere anally retentive, but…

I found this website (thanks /.) which has a magnificent table mapping various programming/project management buzzwords to their real world meaning. Its here.

I will ask santa for a tee shirt for xmas I think – I’ll let him choose which version.

I totally applaud any effort to highlight the fact that (good) programming is not simple. High quality development is tough, whatever technology and process you are using. Some are tougher than others though.

If you were at the Excel dev conf in Jan you will know my views on project management.  They haven’t changed.

cheers

simon

 

5 Responses to “New Programming hero”

  1. Nicholas Hebb (@nickhebb) Says:

    > I will ask santa for a tee shirt for xmas I think – I’ll let him choose which version.

    I looked at the sizing chart and did the measurements. Unfortunately it looks like my options would be a tight, form-fitting shirt … or a dress.

  2. ross Says:

    Decent list of free books on the site too

  3. Marcus from London Says:

    Nice post Smurf! Certainly struck a chord.

    “effort to highlight the fact that (good) programming is not simple”

    My favourite (almost rhetorical) question during any development cycle is: “that wont take long, will it?”

    I’d have to go with the Less Optimised version myself – I don’t want to have to explain the concept of maternal copulation to the kids.

  4. dougaj4 Says:

    I like the look of the inverted programming for dummies books.

    Especially since they are free on-line.

    I might even fork out the $2.50 for a downloadable pdf.

  5. Biggus Dickus Says:

    I’m smack in the midde of a project that’s EXACTLY like described on that website. It’s disgusting but I’m taking their money anyway ;-)

    Hope all is well Mr. Murphy. Dick

Leave a Reply

