Blunderful spreadsheet caused West Coast Mainline bid fail

I just saw this.

They are talking about refunds to bidders totalling 40 million quid, partly caused by some craptastic spreadsheet.

Not sure if it was a domain knowledge error wrapped in a spreadsheet or a pure spreadsheet error. Either way I’m glad it was nothing to do with me!

Things are calming down at Codematic towers now so I might well bother my arse to post a bit more often. But in all honesty I don’t see me returning to the 40+ hours a week I was investing in posting here in it’s heyday.

cheers

simon

2 Responses to “Blunderful spreadsheet caused West Coast Mainline bid fail”

  1. dougaj4 Says:

    I think the financial people should have a chat with some engineers about how to go about checking the results of analysis when getting it wrong could have nasty consequences :)

    (Nice to see you back by the way)

  2. Hibbert Says:

    The “GDP resilience model” that was used probably works. Whatever its potential output I suspect some form of input error. Anyway, whether it’s the model or users or a combination, I’m also glad it’s nothing to do with me. Gulp.

    Thanks for the post and look forward to more!

Leave a Reply

