Will I Pimp Your Shizzle?

No!

I currently get several categories of email:

  1. You a due in court, here is your virus laden summons pdf.
  2. Your account is overdue here is your virus laden account xls or pdf
  3. Can I be your fuck buddy?, with a link I sure as shit don’t want to visit
  4. Hi,  please will you promote our product or service to SOS readers

and I occasionally get a useful message.

1,2 and 3 I delete and curse my crap anti spam filterage

4, I ignore. why? writing to me doesn’t confer the right of a reply, its what you write about that may get you a reply.

Have you actually reviewed the content here and checked your product or service is relevant. Not just any old Spreadsheet stuff, but it needs to be relevant to advanced developers. How to write a VLookup is about as much use here as the virus laden court summons.

Will I pimp your stuff here? are you making money? how much? what’s my cut? per click, month, sale or what?  But whatever, if you need to ask, the answer is no.

I never set out to make SOS directly commercial, I don’t show any ads here (WordPress might, but I don’t and I have never made a penny from this blog, directly at least).

I set up SOS to create a place for advanced developers to talk about complex issues away from the noise of how to open/save files etc. Along the way I have highlighted some excellent tools that I have found personally very useful, ExcelDNA and XLL plus are two that spring to mind.

And of course I’m not really investing much time here now…

cheers

simon

One Response to “Will I Pimp Your Shizzle?”

  1. Tony Says:

    Great post. I trawl the web looking for H&T’s for Excel (free only) and am amazed and grateful for guys like you who are willing to help. I would say to anyone, the help you need is out there, just go an look for it, and don’t forhet to say thanks. Tony.

Leave a Reply

