XLL plus 7 is out

My favourite XLL tool just got updated.

I decided ages ago that xll+ was the best way forward for C++ xlls. The main reason was its ability to target both 2007+ and classic Excels from the same file. Hand coding that in C++ is a PITA.

I am still awaiting my first commercial 2010 job, and I am looking forward to a couple of new 2010 features, the main one being the compute cluster integration (native async). XLL plus 7 helps you target that exact functionality, neat.

This version also has Ribbon integration which is great because the native xll interface does not support any ribbon interaction meaning normal xlls become a 2 file solution in 2007+ as you need a workbook/xlam to hold the ribbon customisations. Which was a bit crap.

And this new version of XLL plus also supports 64 bit, which I imagine was a pretty big job.

I’m a bit unconvinced about 64 bit Excel personally, if I needed a spreadsheet bigger than 2gb I would take up yoga so I could give myself a kick up the arse. I suppose if it improves RAM use too I could see some value (and avoid all that stretching).

Perhaps someone could enlighten me on the benefits of 64 bit? 2gb+ jet dbs I could totally use, I have been hit with that barrier loads of times. A 3gb powerpoint would be particularly unwelcome…

Anyway, as a key performance tool provider I guess XLL+ didn’t have much choice, as these big monsters are exactly where you would use XLL+.

Anyway I haven’t even downloaded a copy of 7 yet so I haven’t had chance to try it, I’ll report back when I have.

cheers

simon

4 Responses to “XLL plus 7 is out”

  1. Neal O'nions Says:

    2GB+ Jet limit would be enough to shift for sure. 200 would be much less of a constraint.

  2. Charles Williams Says:

    I have managed to make my test XLL function library work in both 32-bit & 64-bit XL using XLL7.
    Not sure how to get the install package to install the right XLL: maybe it will require a stub loader addin that determines the XL bitness and then loads the appropriate XLL.
    Also Govert has a 64-bit version of XL DNA under test that I have not tried yet.

  3. Charles Williams Says:

    Advantages of 64-bit:
    I can see real benefit with Pivot Tables and PowerPivot: they can fall over at just over 1 GB (memory fragmentation apparently) in 32-bit, and its not that hard to hit an extract of over 1GB from a DB.
    Otherwise:
    2GB of data definitely should be in a DB
    2GB of Formulae – definitely needs optimising

  4. ross Says:

    …. but its mostly formatting! ;-)

Leave a Reply

