Quick Netbook advice

I’m back on my Asus at the moment.

If you are thinking of getting a netbook and you will be doing lots of reading/surfing on it, I would recommend one where page up and down are a single button each.

On this Asus page up is fn+ up arrow.

Needing 2 hands on the keyboard makes surfing a bit too much like work, because the trackpads are small I find I use the keyboard maybe a bit more than a desktop.

Mind you I’m using a Dell corporate small style keyboard at the moment, I think the tiny crappy Asus keyboard is easier to use.
Just a thought…

cheers

Simon

4 Responses to “Quick Netbook advice”

  1. Alex J Says:

    @Simon:
    Someone posted a new one (to me, anyway) a couple of weeks ago. Spacebar and Shift – Spacebar do the page thing, at least in IE. Tried that?

  2. Harlan Grove Says:

    You must love using vi under Linux where single letter keys move the cursor around within text files.

    Are you sure there isn’t an X Windows utility that allows you to remap keys for specific X clients? I could swear there was one, but I don’t recall the name.

  3. Simon Says:

    Alex – sweeeeet that works in ff on Linux too. Thanks.

    Harlan there maybe is a utility, I havent looked very hard. And I wont be doing anytime soon now Alex has come up trumps.

    I did want to remap my windows key to turn off in Ubuntu, but there doesn’t seem to be a UI based way to do it. And of course I haven’t made as much progress on learning the terminal as I had hoped. 2009 maybe, unless someone knows the answer off the top of their head? No biggie if not I want to get more into that stuff anyway.

  4. Alex J Says:

    @Simon: so glad I could help (who knew?).

    For the “one key at a time” crowd, my buddy Cam tells me that “BackSpace” and “Shift+BackSpace” work the same as BACK and NEXT in IE

Leave a Reply

